Titles

SIR APROPOS OF NOTHING

SIR APROPOS OF NOTHING
Details
Author:
Genre: Fantasy
About the Book

Pocket Books
July 2001
Format: Hard/Soft (mass market)/ Comic Book

From NEW YORK TIMES best-selling author Peter David comes an all new original fantasy.

Apropos of Nothing, born to a whore, lame, raised in a bar, best friend of a thief, destined for greatness…at least that’s what his mother always told him.

With great wit and humor, Peter David writes of the adventures of a character who will charm, cajole, disgust and amuse and gain the respect of the reader. In the tradition of such best-selling science fiction and fantasy writers as Douglas Adams and Terry Prachett, David turns convention on its head, and provides us with the perfect view of its naked backside.

[Starred Review!] “An antihero for the 21st century, Apropos springs from his mother’s womb with a full set of teeth, ready to bite anyone who gets in the way of his survival in this fast, fun, heroic fantasy satire. David, author of more than 40 novels…knows how to spin a story, entertaining the reader with pathos, bathos, mythos and psychos. Of course…David…appears to be planning still more adventures (and hopefully, misadventures) for his cranky, crazy knight.”—PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (June 18, 2001)

“Prepare yourself for the heroic fantasy novel that laughs at convention, scoffs at tradition, and overturns the apple cart of expectations. Peter David, noted ‘Writer of Stuff,’ is at it again with SIR APROPOS OF NOTHING, the book that Tolkien is glad he didn’t write, the story Eddings shut the door on, the tale too unpredictable for Jordan.

“I promise you, if you’re not rendered speechless at least twice by the end of the book, you’re not reading it properly. I read some of the worst puns out loud to my wife, and she wondered if Peter David had been bitten by a radioactive Spider Robinson (of the Callahans series). The cats were less amused. I can only pray there’s a sequel, because Peter David’s only scratched the surface of the genre with this offering, a fairly hefty tome in its own right. He’s given us a believable, if amusing, world to play in, with place names like Flaming Nether Regions, and The Tragic Waste, with fully-realized characters, and with a magic system that defies description. (Well, it could be described, but I just like saying something defies description. Ha! I defy you! I defy you again!) (Forgive the digressions. I blame the book.)

“SIR APROPOS OF NOTHING is both an excellently told fantasy novel and a brilliant met textual commentary upon the heroic fantasy genre. It’s self-aware, but not embarrassed in the least. In this regard, it ranks right up there with Eve Forward’s VILLAINS BY NECESSITY and Simon R. Green’s BLUE MOON RISING for taking the traditional trappings of epic fantasy, and not just twisting them into knots, but giving them a good sucker punch to the groin for good measure.

“I can only pray there’s a sequel, because Peter David’s only scratched the surface of the genre with this offering, a fairly hefty tome in its own right. He’s given us a believable, if amusing, world to play in, with place names like Flaming Nether Regions, and The Tragic Waste, with fully-realized characters, and with a magic system that defies description. (Well, it could be described, but I just like saying something defies description. Ha! I defy you! I defy you again!) (Forgive the digressions. I blame the book.)

“If you like fantasy, and you’re tired of the same old epic quests, noble knights, unpronounceable names, and recycled elves, you’ll enjoy SIR APROPOS OF NOTHING. Now, if you don’t have a sense of humor, you’re probably better off sticking with the elves. All in all, this is one of the best books I’ve read in quite a while. “—GREEN MAN REVIEW (http://www.greenmanreview.com/sirapropos.html)

“Peter David, best-selling author of many Star Trek novels and longtime comic-book writer, makes a return foray into the realm of fantasy with a zippy, foamy concoction that pits heroic gallantry—The laughs start on page one, sentence one—and only get harder and more frequent from there.

“In his own hyper inventive style, author David mixes the most devastating puns-and the most off-kilter humor with a streak of social satire and a flawless sense of the sublime…Only Peter David could have pulled it off and made it all not only palatable, but soufflé-light and corn-crisp salty.

“This ain’t your typical self-important and overly stylized fantasy tale, and thank God for it. It is, however, chatty, bratty, and, like its protagonist, better than it knows.”—WIGGLEFISH REVIEW Kilian Melloy (http://www.wigglefish.com)  July 9, 2001

“…the adventure kicks into high gear, twisting and turning violently until the very last page. From the small town of Town, across Isteria, and through the Outer Lawless Regions, the reader is transported to a world of adventure—and puns. The most creative patron of Callahan’s Crosstime Saloon … would have a difficult time keeping up with author Peter David, as he slings them with unerring and unmerciful skill.

“SIR APROPOS OF NOTHING combines all the classic elements that have made fan favorites out of PBS’s Black Adder, Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, and William Goldman’s The Princess Bride. The result is a tale that is wholly original, utterly enjoyable, and a tale you’ll want to re-read often.”—THE COMIC STORE.COM REVIEWS Howard Price (http://www.thecomicstore.com)

“People who have read other books by this author will undoubtedly feel right at home with this book. .. if you’re looking for a fantasy novel with a slightly darker edge, this one’s for you.”—THE STORYTELLER’S ARCHIVE REVIEW Gregory J. Dolnack (www.users.erols.com)

“…readers who enjoy great writing, a wicked sense of humor and vivid characters will find this to be one of the most refreshing and interesting books they’ve read in a long while.”— WRITER’S WRITE REVIEW (http://www.writerswrite.com) August 2001

“I loved this book…. [It] kept me guessing. I loved each of Peter David’s surprising twists. It was easy to read, fast-moving and very funny. Great for fans of Piers Anthony, Robert Aspirin and Terry Brooks—and for everyone who hates being a comic footnote!”—BARNES & NOBLE EXPLORATION

About the Author
Peter David

Peter David is a prolific author whose career, and continued popularity, spans nearly two decades. He has worked in every conceivable medium—television, film, books (fiction, nonfiction, and audio), short stories, and comic books—and has acquired followings in all of them.

 

His notable comic book work includes an award-winning 12-year run on The Incredible Hulk, as well as runs on Aquaman, Young Justice, Supergirl, X-Factor, and Fallen Angel.

 

His Star Trek work includes both comic books and novels such as Imzadi, and co-creating the New Frontier series. His other novels include film adaptations, media tie-ins, and original works, such as the Apropos of Nothing and Knight Life series. His television work includes series such as Babylon 5, Young Justice, Ben 10: Alien Force and Nickelodeon’s Space Cases, which he co-created with Bill Mumy.

 

David has earned multiple awards for his work, including a 1992 Eisner Award, a 1993 Wizard Fan Award, a 1996 Haxtur Award, a 2007 Julie Award and a 2011 GLAAD Media Award.

Sign up for Updates
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. We also participate in other affiliate advertising programs associated with other online booksellers. This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, The Zack Company, Inc. will receive an affiliate commission.
The Zack Company, Inc.

Copyright © 2017 The Zack Company, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Developed by TRIGUNS